Home > English Legal System

To: Mrs Braun
CC: Law suet from Betty
Re: Changes to legal service in England

Answer: The English legal profession is divided into two sections:
1- Solicitors
2- Barristers
In England and Wales there are over 80,000 solicitors, who are governed by the Law Society
who supervise the training and discipline of the solicitors and represents the profession.
Solicitors have traditionally done advocacy work in the magistrate’s court and the County
Court but not in the High Courts. However this was changed by the Courts and Legal Service Act 1990 and the Access to Justice Act 1999 allowing barristers and solicitors the rights of audience on completion of the relevant training. There are currently 1,000 solicitor advocates.
Solicitors without the full right of audience are even allowed to appear in the High Courts, in bankruptcy cases or to read out formal unchallenged statements. Solicitors can appear in cases of appeal that are from the magistrates’ courts that have b...(short extract)

To download the full answer, please Sign in or Register then make a payment or submit 3 of your essays.

  • Subject: Law
  • Course: English Legal System
  • Level: Degree
  • Year: 2nd/3rd
  • Mark: 80%
  • Words: 2098
  • Date submitted: April 18, 2009
  • Date written: March, 2007
  • References: Yes
  • Document type: Essay*
  • Essay ID: 1454

New customer?

Registering is fast
and easy

Welcome back

Easy access

  1. Register with us
  2. Pay for instant access
  3. Or submit 3 essays
    of your own for
    FREE access


Adobe Reader is required to access all coursework & essays. (pdf)
PayPal handles payments on our behalf. All major credit cards and currencies accepted.

A PayPal account is not nessesary.